Thomas La Grua's Journey to Awakening

June 4, 2012

Day 30

Filed under: Writing out the Mind: 2010-July 2, 2012 — Thomas La Grua @ 3:12 pm

I arrived in Puli two days ago, and it’s really been quite easy for me to get settled in. I have a room in a big house; there’s a small classroom setup, and a piano in my room. The daughter of the woman who owns the house is currently playing the piano and I don’t mind that; maybe I kind of like it. I’ve been walking and riding my bicycle a lot. It’s very easy to get off the streets and into the mountains. I’ll start working this evening; it’s not so much money, but that’s OK because the important thing is that, I just get back into ‘teaching.’ My first class consists of four kids, ages 4-5. It’s been a long time since I tried keeping the attention of such young kids, but I do recall it being fun/funny. I’ve paid in advance for three months of rent, and now all I have to do to break-even for living costs is make about 500NT or twenty dollars a day.

Having just finished that class, I’ll say that it’s still fun teaching these little four and five year-olds. Actually it’s a mixture of teaching and entertaining – mostly teaching by entertaining. It’s also a real workout for me, kind of like aerobics. This city doesn’t have that many foreign teachers – especially ones with experience, so it is possible to build up a student base. My plan continues to be to take it step by step and with each step, check my standing so as to walk within and as that which is best for all. I’ve often asked the question: “what is best for all,” and wondered how on Earth could I possibly understand what is best for all or even ‘one’ other. But it has occurred to me that it’s not necessary – at this step – for me to know everything about everyone. Right now, it is for me to simply understand myself, and within as this – me, walk/stand self-honestly, doing unto others as I would have others do to me – were I in their shoes. Of course, I’m not in their shoes, but no matter whose shoes one is standing in, I am certain that the one standing in those shoes would have me standing self-honestly. So that’s still (regarding me) my number one priority – to stand self-honestly, and not allow something to take place in the mind that is not equal to my outer expression. Speaking of self-honesty, I’ve only made commitments to stay down here for the next three months – the summer. But, my plan is move/stay down here permanently; I just need to balance things. I now realize that my past ways of trying reach a goal as quickly as possible without walking the steps in space-time, only obstructed the path to that goal. Step by step.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

