Thomas La Grua's Journey to Awakening

February 2, 2012

Decisions, Decisions,Decisions, I wonder if they’re even real

Filed under: Writing out the Mind: 2010-July 2, 2012 — Thomas La Grua @ 5:43 am

I often spend a lot of time/energy as the mind considering what it is that I want to do or am going to do. I tell myself that it’s not necessary to think about it, that I should just stop the thoughts, and walk this life in the moment. The problem lies in determining which way to walk – what is it that’s best for me; what is it that’s best for all. The director where I work tells me that I must teach certain classes. But what happens when these classes occur after working-hours at times when I’m not being paid, times then I don’t want to be working, at times when I’d prefer to be at home relaxing. I understand enough about how the system works to be able to apply certain rules within the system, that are designed to protect workers/teachers such as me. I see it as my responsibility to not allow me to accept abuse – abusive labor practices. However as an employee, what I see as abusive labor practices seems to be seen as the norm for the employer. So, how does one decide? I use common sense, local laws, the employment agreement, and of course, my wants, needs, and desires – which, are often quite fickle. Currently, I am considering filing suit against an employer for failure to pay due wages, and breach of contract. Some people advise me to just let it go. The problem with this advice is that, 1) I want the money, and 2) why should I allow them abuse me or anyone else. I ask, “What in this situation is best for all?” I understand how to use the system to make sure that I am not abused within the system. There are those who don’t have the information, knowledge, and resources that I have. Thus, they don’t have the options that I have. I see others’ not-having the options that I have, as one of the results of an unfair system in which equality does not exist. I have options and I will pursue them. Best for all, or best for me, I guess I’ll just have to wait and see.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

