Thomas La Grua's Journey to Awakening

November 29, 2010

Value

Filed under: Writing out the Mind: 2010-July 2, 2012 — Thomas La Grua @ 6:32 am

Value is a construct of the mind, based on the “illusion of separation”. It (value) is the abdicated self-directedness or self expression of life to something or someone that one believe to be separate from self. The reason for the term “separate from self” is because self can only give away something, to that which is separate from self. Therefore, “value” that one place on that which is (believed to be) separate from oneself is that part of self that is not experienced here, one and equal as life because, it (that part of  self = the value = self directedness) has been given up to someone or something else.  For example, let’s say that my friend does something that I want to comment on, but don’t because I’m certain that it will harm our relationship. The value or degree to which I abdicate my self-directedness or self-expression (in not commenting) is equal to the value I place on maintaining the relationship. In other words, the value I place on the relationship is one with and equal to the suppression of my self-expression. The value that I have placed on (given unto) the relationship is my self-directedness = self expression = myself. Therefore, to value that which is separate from me is to give up/abdicate/suppress me.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

