Thomas La Grua's Journey to Awakening

November 29, 2010

Two weeks notice to a employer who wanted the teacher without the teachings

Filed under: Writing out the Mind: 2010-July 2, 2012 — Thomas La Grua @ 6:31 am

Hi (name),
I’m writing this email so that there are no misunderstandings between us. I have
always had a high regard for you, both as a person and as a friend. However, I
place importance on knowing where I stand. And, concerning my teaching at your
school, it is clear that “my standing” is neither appreciated nor respected.
Therefore, in the interests of maintaining our friendship, and providing the
students with a smooth transition to another teacher, I am informing you of my
intent to make December 9 (two weeks from now) my last teaching day at your
school. If you should find a replacement teacher before that time, please let me
know. If you are unable to find a replacement teacher and require that I teach
past December 9, I can do that, but I will require 800 per hour as opposed to
700 per hour.

Just to be clear on my statement “not being appreciated or respected”, let me
explain. Appreciation: although, for me, working at (name) has never been about
the money, the 700 per hour that I am paid puts me (in terms of value) at the
lowest level, and therefore logically speaking, the most easily replaced and
(obviously) least appreciated. Respect: yesterday, you told/ordered me twice to
“stop talking”. The first time, I was speaking to someone about Thanksgiving
being a historical lie, perpetrated by the USA and supported by teachings
throughout much of the world. The second time that you told me to stop talking
was while I was in the process of telling (name) that I planned to make turkey
stew out of the bones. From my perspective, it’s simple. I stand for and insist
upon honesty and equality. Honesty begins with self and extends to all else.
Equality is respecting others in the same manner, as you would have them respect
you. I have never needed to be appreciated. However, when one sees that his
standing is not respected, he either changes his stand, or he moves on; and this
is what I’m doing.

See you on Tuesday,

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

