Thomas La Grua's Journey to Awakening

November 1, 2010

Update on life without alcohol

Filed under: Writing out the Mind: 2010-July 2, 2012 — Thomas La Grua @ 12:07 am

These days, I’m up at anywhere from 3:30 -7:30 every morning and I’m enjoying it. Last Saturday, I went to a Halloween party at a friend’s house. I didn’t drink alcohol. I knew that wouldn’t, and it wasn’t that difficult. What was challenging was simply staying there for as long as I did – till 11:30 pm. It was challenging because I felt out of place and to be honest everyone looked out of place. It reminded me of what I noticed when I was younger – everyone moving around as though they weren’t sure of where they were supposed to be or what they were supposed to do or say. What I saw “sober,” was the same thing that I saw so many years ago when I was younger. Individuals who aren’t sure how and where they fit in, and are unwilling or too insecure to commit themselves to a course of action until the group’s movement takes shape, or a leader sets the stage or parameters of what is fashionable. So, last Saturday was like a test drive of the new me.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

